Posted by: Gurindam Jiwa | Monday, August 23, 2004

You Can Close Your Eyes

This is my piece at Kakiseni.com on Remembering Jairus that has since dissappeared due to upgrades and revisions.

Jairus Anthony Jairus Anthony, at the benefit performance at The Actors Studio Bangsar Jairus Anthony, at the benefit performance at The Actors Studio Bangsar
Photos are from Kakiseni.com: You Can Close Your Eyes

Former Classmate
Mon, Aug 23, 2004

I am reminding myself and my friends that whenever we read the newspapers these days, try also not to miss the Obituary, because one of us may be in it.

Jairus Form 5 Class Photo 1980On Friday, 20th. August 2004, that was how I found out about Jairus’s passing.

He was my classmate in Form Four and Form Five. We’re in the same school since Form One. We had never met ever since I left my Sixth Form.

I still remember once in a while I would join him in class singing Beatles’ songs. I never thought that he would actually go out and sing professionally.

Some old friends did tell me years ago that Jairus was now a singer. 23 years after we last met, I finally got to go his house last Saturday afternoon. But he was no longer with us. Condolences to the very loving family.

So advice to myself: Go look for old friends, don’t take friendship for granted.

We really miss you, Jairus.

Mazlan Abdul Malik
Class of 1980
Setapak High School


Leave a Reply

Categories

