Posted by: Gurindam Jiwa | Tuesday, January 22, 2008

He Looks Young

I met an old friend at the bank today. I already expected to see him, but not today, at the bank. I had already told my wife earlier to invite him over.

The last time we met, it was a few weeks before the Banding heist and the Sauk tragedy, when he came over to collect the final payment for his used fax machine that he sold me. He looked sombre. A lot on his mind.

That was more than 8 years ago. The fax machine has since succumbed to an evening of thunderous lightning bout.

Unlike his fax machine, he is still standing. He has been out for more than a year. He was doing petty trading at the market on Sundays. He keeps low profile.

The youth is still in him. He looks calm, not quite confident. But then, he always looked that way. Most of all, he radiates that innocence. In all sense of the word. And I really believe that he really is. Innocent.

I invited him over to my place. He said he would be coming over tomorrow. He wanted me to help him design and print his wedding card.

Yes, he is getting married soon. Hence the need for a steady income. So no more petty trading at the market on Sundays. But he still keeps low profile. Even now that he is back at his old job. Pretty much.

Good to see him back. I wish I could be as strong.


Leave a Reply

Categories

