Posted by: Gurindam Jiwa | Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Maulidur-Rasul 1429H: Generating Glorious Ummah

Abu Hurairah related that the Prohet SAW gif said, “I observe this day in fasting because it was a day in which I was born, and on it the revelation of (Al-Qur’an) was inaugurated.” (Muslim)

That was one of how the Monday’s puasa sunat (voluntary fasting) began.

And that is how we should celebrate our birthdays.

See, a lot of our ibadah are inter-related between man and Allah. But fasting is only for Allah SWT gif.

So if you want anything from Allah SWT gif, if you want to say thank you, if you want to hold your lust, but not to show your piety, fasting is one of the best ways. It’s not going to bother anybody else, it’s just between you and Allah. There are other ways, of course, such as qiamullail and tahajjud.

For me, I can never understand the significance of fire on top of food. Lit candles on a cake. I thought the fire should be under the food, in order to cook the food. The smoke from the fire is for the Jins. But what do I know?

For me, this is it. If you really wanna celebrate your birthday, you should fast, in the name of Allah SWT gif. That’s it.

For me, this is how a Muslim should celebrate birthdays foremost. By fasting. Rasulullah SAW gif had shown the way, we just follow.

Processions are fine, so long it isn’t riak (show off) and within the confines of Islam. I went to the Sambutan Maulidur Rasul Peringkat Kebangsaan (National Level Maulidur-Rasul Celebration) at Stadium Negara in 1996. Among others: Ladies with strong make-up and kain kebaya slit to the hilt hitting kompang making rounds while shouting the selawat. Aaahhh, the precursor to Islam Hadhaari? Looked to me more like Ka’abah just before the Prophet SAW gif was born.

Actually, Islam is very simple. Just go by those pillars of Islam, and those pillars of Iman, and we’ll be fine.

So what would you like for your birthday? A cake? A card? A rose? A tie? A kiss? Should you be sad if no one comes over and say “Happy Birthday?”

Perhaps a Muslim should say, “I hope you’ll forgive me if I eat that cake after Maghrib, cause I’m celebrating my birthday today.” Don’t say it as riak or takkabbur (boasting). But say it in the form of dakwah. To tell others how Islam is complete. It even has a way of celebrating birthdays.

And these things didn’t come up just now. It started more than 1,400 years ago.

Just some links:

 

Have a blessed Maulidur-Rasul.

Selamat Menjana Ummah Gemilang.

Back to Top

Responses

  1. Salam Maulidurrasul~ Thanks for sharing the link with us!

  2. You are welcome, cecima.

  3. that’s really3 true.. huhuhu

  4. masyaALlaah! Powerful article bro..powerful!

  5. selamat menyambut maulidur rasul

  6. Mana ada power tuan dPerantauan! Lepaskan geram je. 😆

    Sorry lambat approve, sebab ada komen yg masuk spam. Nasib baik tergerak hati nak tengok spam queue.

    Berapa banyaklah agaknya sebelum ni komen yg dah kena spam. Hmmm…

    Salam Maulidur Rasul juga kepada paihz dan fieza.

  7. I wrote this piece with a clear conscience. But I believe someone has plagiarized my work. A simple acknowledgment would have sufficed. I guess that is part of this cyber age. Saujana Impian is not that far away.

    Look at this:

    MAULIDUR RASUL 2008

    Abu Hurairah related that the Prohet SAW said, “I observe this day in fasting because it was a day in which I was born, and on it the revelation of (Al-Qur’an) was inaugurated.” (Muslim)

    That was one of how the Monday’s puasa sunat (voluntary fasting) began.

    And that is how we should celebrate our birthdays.
    Have a blessed Maulidur Rasul.


Leave a Reply

Categories

